Poetry of Life (6/10/13): “Who Am I?”

Who Am I?

A Poem by Migdal OZ

Image

Who am I, o Great Unknown?
Who am I, indeed, now standing before You?
Am I but a speck of dust upon this Boundless Cosmos?
Am I a worm that kisses its being upon the Dust?

In this tenebrous world have I pronounced myself, the “king of the world”.
I have proclaimed that all things be subjected unto me.
All things that were never mine have I coveted.
All for the sake of my glorification.

Then Death came, a power more vigorous than I thought myself was.
Oh! It stung me at the core with its poisonous sting.
Then the gods came, laughing, and said: “Oh, look at the man who has proclaimed himself god!”

Shame, shame, shame!
Now look at my state.
I am more lowlier than a slug.
More filthier than a rat.

My arrogance has brought me into a place that the humble and the meek never saw.
And now, what am I?
Who am I?
I am but a speck of dust.
I am but a dot in this limitless world.

Leave a Reply

