Sonnets of Light (11/20/12): “The Voice of G-d”

The Voice of G-d
A Ghazal by Oriyahu Yair


From the very moment of existence, I have heard the voice of G-d.
It is swift and dear, sweet and alluring, and yes, it is the voice of G-d.

From moment to moment it brings me into places far beyond space and time,
As soon as I hear it, oh! Everything from around me dissipates, and yes, it is the voice of G-d.

When it leaves my presence, I feel darkness and confusion;
But as soon as I would hear it, clarity comes, and yes, it is the voice of God!

The Voice is not only heard, it has fragrance, that of a Rose;
And as soon as I smell of its fragrance, ah yes! My heart would blossom as a rose, and yes, it is the voice of G-d!

Be still, and you should know; 
Be here, in the now, be awake! For you too hear the tenderness of the voice of G-d!

And now that the time of my transition draws near, ah!
The voice gets nearer and nearer. I can hear it, clear and vivid, and yes, I can say that, it is the Voice of G-d.

Leave a Reply

