Sonnets of Light (11/17/12): “The Reverie of Unrequited Love (A Romantic Ghazal)”

The Reverie of Unrequited Love
a Ghazal sonnet by: Stanley Castro

O dear Beloved, why did you run away?
I was seeking the fragrance of your Soul, why did you run away?

Hand to hand we held each other, laughing at the world’s reverie,
But now, I cannot see the Light of your eyes, why did you run away?

Face to face, we beheld each other’s soul,
But now, I cannot sense the Life from within you, why did you run away?

The fire of my heart burns as long as I see you,
But now, that Fire of Love  that burns in our hearts was extinguished, why did you run away?

What have I done, O Young One, to make you aloof?
Our love was as fresh as a morning dew, seeing that, why did you run away?

Is it the blemish of my face that displeases you? Answer me now! Why did you run away?

Is it the impurity of my being that you despise?
Answer me now! Why did you run away?

The Light has diminished, the Life has long dissipated, and the Love long gone. Beloved One, seeing this, why did you run away?

Fool I was to make you run away, dear one!
My First Romance, My Primal Happiness, why did you run away?

Can’t you remember everything that has been of us?
Beloved, why, why did you run away?

And now, I, your buried past, seeks your answer;
Beloved, before I leave, can I ask you, why, why did you run away?

Leave a Reply

